Scent of Soil

Scent of Soil’s music ranges from energetic rock to tender ballads in which the group’s jazz roots emerge more distinctly. Huke and Brunborg have put together an exciting band with musicians who have all worked extensively with boundary-defying music, and their references to the alternative rock scene are very much in evidence. Kirsti Huke has worked in both rock and jazz genres, and has released two highly praised albums under her own name.
Tore Brunborg is undoubtedly one of the most important Norwegian saxophonists in the generation that followed Jan Garbarek. He had his breakthrough in the 1980s with the group Masqualero, which also featured Nils Petter Molvær, Arild Andersen and Jon Christensen. During the past few years he has worked with Mathias Eick, Manu Katché, the Tord Gustavsen Ensemble and Ketil Bjørnstad. He also plays a key role on two of Mats Eilertsen’s records on the HUBRO label: Radio Yonder and Sky Dive. Guitarist Petter Vågan plays together with Huke in the rock band –phy, and is also known as a member of Marvel Machine, Eyewaterlilies, Vertex and Petter O Hanna. Bassist Rune Nergaard and drummer Gard Nilssen have performed together in several different bands, but are perhaps best known from the free rock band Bushman’s Revenge. Nilssen also plays with Susanne Sundfør, Puma and Mathias Eick.
Releases: Tore Brunborg/Kirsti Huke: Scent of Soil CD/LP